Orts and Buttons

Sewing the sides was not as difficult as I had anticipated – there is a bit of leeway at the middle of each side to take a little bit out of the corner being sewn if you need to. I had wondered if not using an evenweave or canvas was a mistake, as the method I found for sewing the sides involved backstitching round the edges, then stitching theough the backstitches to assemble the biscornu.
 
I stuffed using orts.  These are pieces of thread which I collect.  When I straighten fabric edges, the drawn threads go in my tin. When I am sewing or embroidering, the ends of thread which are not long enough for anything else go in.  Tacking stitch threads, and bits from taking out unsatisfactory work also go in.  The only threads which don’t go in are metallic ones.  So the resulting mixture is ideal for stuffing an item such as this.  When I had finished, my tin was empty.  However it now has a few bit in it to  start me off again, as I have just done some mending  jobs.
 
The buttons came from my box, which is fairly well organised.  The tubes are what some of my husband’s cigars are packed in.
 
Stuffing process

June 3, 2011. Tags: , , . Embroidery.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

