Stuck in the Doldrums

Now that I am back from the holiday, and the washing is done, the fridge filled, and most things are back to ‘normal’, I am finding it difficult to get back to embroidery.  The problem is that I don’t know where to start! 

I have spent some time trying to source the materials to make a hardanger table runner – not so easy.  It uses a 25 count evenweave, and a half metre would really be skimping.  When I finally found one place that could supply fabric in the intended shade, threads and a pair of hardanger scissors, and totted up the total, I was a little shocked.  Almost £50!

If I try to use a fabric of a different count, it might be cheaper, but I would have to adjust the pattern, because the size will be wrong.  Obviously there could be extra problems here.  Then I realised that, as I have never attempted Hardanger before, it might be an idea to try a small project first.  Think of the consequences of snipping out the wrong threads.

So I went upstairs to root out all my evenweave fabric, and I do have some of the same count.  The piece I have selected will do two mats, and these involve using most of the stitches used in the runner.

Over the next day or two I will prepare the fabric, and decide on what colours of thread I will use.  I will also obtain a pair of hardanger scissors, so that I can do the job properly.  But before I do that I will probably get out a small piece of Hardanger fabric (Oslo) and go through the Anchor Book of Hardanger Embroidery, trying out all the stitches.

In case you were wondering about the unfinished projects – I will probably finish another , and post some photos. And then I will probably do a post about the holiday project.

But (is anyone surprised?), I also have another project I need to add to my list.

Does anyone have useful tips for Hardanger?

June 22, 2011. Tags: , , . Embroidery, Hardanger.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

