Goldwork Part 3

After taking out things I was not happy with, and trying  something else, here is the completed piece.  I have really enjoyed doing this, and intend to do some more, and maybe learn some more advanced techniques.

GOLDWORK PEAR

 
The parts which gave me the most problems were the leaves.  I didn’t want to make them too blingy.  In the end I took off the one on the right, and started again with a piece of silk carrier rod which has a lovely sheen.
 
At the workshop I bought some Ophir metallic thread, which is made by Coats.  In view of the problems I have had with other netallic threads, I was very careful with it, and I found that it behave much better than any of the others I have tried.
 
I have been looking at my file of possible designs, to see if any of them lend themselves to Goldwork.  I think I am going to be in design mode for the next  day or two. 
 
When I had finished I could see a grubby circle, which I have had to deal with.  I sometimes cover what I am embroidering with a piece of cloth with an aperture. so that this doesn’t happen.  Other times I hold the hoop with a piece of kitchen paper or a tissue so that my fingers don’t topuch the fabric.  The best solution might be a stand which holds the hoop, but that might have to be a hint for dear old Santa!
August 19, 2011. Tags: , , . Embroidery, Goldwork.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

