More Goldwork

Having enjoyed the goldwork workshop so much, I have embarked on another piece.  The materials in the kit for the workshop were generous, so I have been able to start, and the additional wires etc. I ordered have arrived very quickly.  I am still getting to grips with the different threads and wires, and how to get the best effects from them.  However the learning curve seems to be levelling off now that I am getting more familiar with how to handle them.

This time I have found my own design, and have worked out how to proceed with each part of it, so I am feeling pleased with myself.   I am making steady progress, but not enough yet to show you a photograph.

Now I am looking forward to the Knitting and Stitching Show at Harrogate in November, and thinking about what I want to look at, and what to buy.  I will be travelling there by coach with the other members of our branch of the Embroiderers’ Guild.  Although this make for a very long day, I don’t think I would want to be driving home from there after a tiring day on my feet.  I will be looking at last year’s brochure to remind myself of the stalls I particularly enjoyed looking at or buying from, and also any that I think I might have missed, or might be more interested in this year.  I shall have to make a list and set a budget.  I didn’t go far over budget last year, but I still have some items which have not yet been used.  If I see something unusual, I just have to get it, but at least last year I didn’t buy things as soon as I had seen them, but made a note of the stall, and a lot of what I bought were in the same colour scheme, which means that I am much more likely to make something really good with them.

In the next day or two I am going to try out some fabric medium, and will post details of what I acheive.

 

August 25, 2011. Tags: . Embroidery, Goldwork.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

