Knitting and Stitching Show Harrogate

Phew!  It was busy yesterday, but I thought not quite so bad as last year.

I had a lovely day, but it was exhausting.  Apart from trying to see all the stalls that interested me, the Textile Gallery deserved a quota of my time.

The displays I enjoyed most were the late Beryl Dean’s Ecclesiastical work  (lots of goldwork), and Diana Springall’s.  Diana’s drawings, paintings etc. from the design stages are shown, which I found interesting.  It seems that I am going about things in a similar way to Diana, which reassures me that I am on the right track.

I was disappointed that two exhibitors I purchased from last year were not there.  Maybe that was because last year, on the Sunday, the weather was atrocious, and some were ‘snowed in’.  What I bought was mostly bits and pieces, and most of it for planned projects.

Down on the lower floor I found Richard Box.  It was good to see some of his work for real, rather than in a book.

There were quite a few male embroiderers showcased.  I mention this because so often we assume that needlecrafts are the domain of females – not the case in some cultures.  I liked Edward Taylor’s work.

The Embroiderers’  Guild and the Quilters’  Guild both had prizewinning work by children among their displays.  I was impressed by what they had done.  Well done!  (The children, and the Guilds for encouraging them.)

Now I need to put away my purchases and spend some time looking at the other ‘stuff’ I have brought home – booklets, flyers, business cards- and look at web-sites to see if they are to be added to my list of useful ones.

If you can get there  ( it ends on Sunday 27th), it is well worth a visit.  We came across one lady who does no stitching, but just goes every year to see the beautiful work displayed.

November 25, 2011. Tags: , , , . Embroidery, Goldwork.

One Comment

  1. Nordie replied:

    I used to go to the one in Dublin (very small in terms of space and exhibitors, even when we moved into the main hall of the RDS).

    I enjoyed it more the two years they held a show at the NEC in Birmingham, but that hasnt been on for a few years now – i suspect that it’s not proving cost effective for either Twistedthread or enough of the exhibitors to make it worth while…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

