Where have I been?

Well, I’m back.  It’s been a while since my last post, mainly because I have hardly done any embroidery.  I damaged my arm a few weeks ago, and it was getting no better, so I have been trying to rest it, and take lots of painkiller/anti-inflammatory pills. I have even moved my mouse-mat to the other side of the computer table and tried only to use my left hand.  I ironed small things left-handed, and my ‘other half’ helped out with the rest.

Needless to say, not much housework has been done.   I am not a fan of housework.   It’s not like embroidery, where stitches are there permanently, unless I decide otherwise.  Housework somehow regenerates itself.  I wipe away all the dust, and clean the windowpanes.  Just a few hours later, there is dust accumulating, and the windows are showing smears.  If I ever have enough money, I will pay a cleaning person, so I don’t need to feel guilty about it.  Failing that pehaps someone has ideas for a self-cleaning house.

I have had quite a few sessions with Haewl Everett’s book ‘Goldwork Techniques Projects and Pure Inspiration’.  The book does exactly what it says on the cover. It might even be the best embroidery book I have EVER come across.  I found myself having to re-read some paragraphs and/ or pages, as there is so much information, and I wanted to make sure it was going in.  The brain cells are not quite what they used to be.

Quite often a book will have a section, or even a few chapters at the beginning, outlining the history the materials to be used etc, and stitches.  Then the rest of the book is devoted to projects.   However lovely these projects are, many of them soon look outdated.   So to come across a book where about two thirds is devoted to the technical stuff means that, from my point of view, it is extemely good value for money.

I heartily recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in Goldwork, particularly if, like me, they are fairly new to this kind of embroidery.  Hazel manages to explain everything in great detail, which gives me the confidence to have a go myself.  The explanations of how to do different things are  illustrated with photographs and diagrams, which means that all that is required is abit of practice before setting out on anything major.

And the Bugs which are among the pages at the back of the book are still calling  to me.  I have checked out what wires and threads I have, so it won’t be long before I ‘have a go’.

January 15, 2012. Tags: , , , . Embroidery, Goldwork.

2 Comments

  1. opusanglicanum replied:

    you must be so frustrated, hope you get better soon

  2. silkystitch replied:

    Thankyou. It’s a little less uncomfortable each day, so 2 or 3 more days of the pills, and being careful, should sort it out.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

