Getting back on track

In my last post I should have mentioned our last branch meeting at the Embroideres’ Guild.   It was  ‘sewing day’, where we have all day to sit and stitch, or do whatever else we take  to the meeting.   We also have the library and equipment at our disposal.  And of course everyone is very sociable , so there is always a buzz of conversation.

So it was an opportunity to get a little further with the Group Project.  The scope has been widened, from Jacobean to C17th embroidery.  It is planned that some people will opt for something modern in the traditional style, while others go for traditional.  We have been gathering information in our workbooks.  Some people have put a lot of effort into theirs, and we displayed the work so far for the rest of the members to see.

I have to admit that mine was not one of the better ones.  However I have been looking at Gutenberg Press, and have downloaded a couple of old books which look as if they will be useful.

Some people expressed concern about the stitches which are to be used.  So it was suggested that we each try to take Jacobean motif, decide on the colours and stitches to use, and use it as a practice piece.  Gold was used at that time, so my piece will probably have a little somewhere.

How we will manage to work on a joint project hasn’t been decided yet.

I mentioned that I was looking for a Birth Sampler design.  I found one in the EG library.  I have been adjusting the shape from rectangular to square, so that I have plenty of space for lettering,  and have spaced out the elements of the design a little.  I have also managed to find a square frame, so now that I know how big it is going to be it seems it will be on 16 count Aida fabric.  Can anyone guess which count is the one I don’t have in my stash?  I suppose that was a silly question.

I have also done a little on my ‘handbag project’, but at present it is not going to look good on a photo, so there is nothing yet to show you. My arms is still improving.  I’m not sure what might aggravate it, so I am doing a lot of different activiies, but none of them for too long at a time.

January 20, 2012. Tags: , , . Embroidery.

2 Comments

  1. opusanglicanum replied:

    I keep toying with the idea that I should join, but am no good at organised projects – I will always do what I feel like doing(drove my silversmithing teacehr to despair cos I was never anywhere near the curriculum) and am never able to attend meetings so I can never work out what I’d get from it

  2. silkystitch replied:

    This is the first time since I’ve been a member that we have had a project like this. Some members are really adventurous with what they do, and others prefer to pick up a design or a kit and complete it as per instructions. Either way, we see some lovely work from some very talented people.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

