The Red House saved

This week’s local paper reports:

Red House Museum has been saved following massive public outcry over plans to close it.”

A working group will  look at ways to generate income.  The council provides a lot events free, including the Craft group at Red House, and a monthly talk at our local library.  I’m sure those attending would be happy to pay a small charge for these.

Not much stitching has been done lately, due to the problems with my arm.  Monday was the first day it did not hurt!  I have been very careful with it, only stitching for a short while, making progress with my ‘handbag project’.

On days when I have not stitched, I have been working on new projects.  The fabric for the baby sampler is ready on the frame, and just needs threads to be selected from my stash.   On Friday and Saturday I was working on a paisley design for a cushion. The fabric is prepared, in that a backing fabric has been basted to the cream silk dupion.  The design has been enlarged to a suitable size.  I have been working with coloured crayons to decide the colour sceme and stitches. I’m not sure which of these projects will be next.

My conscience told me I should get my act together, and do some work on a Jacobean motif before the next Embroiderers’ Guild meeting!   So I have transferred my motif onto some fabric, and made a start.  This is an ideal opportunity to use up small amounts of thread, and a piece of fabric not large enough for anything else.  I do try to use up my stash, but I still keep looking on eBay every few days for bargains!

February 9, 2012. Tags: , , , . Embroidery.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

