Butterfly

This butterfly, which is a blackwork design by Tanja Berlin, appeared in ‘Classic Inspirations’ magazine.  I have wanted to do it for some time.  My original thoughts were to do it in white on Midnight Blue.  When I got round to looking at the fabric I had bought it was not the colour I had expected, so I had to have a rethink. My next thought was pastel shades.  Then I decided to read the instructions, and realised that two colours was probably the maximum I could use without making it look messy.

The effect I was trying to get is a butterfly at dusk.  I decided on a soft lemon shade, and the swirl is a very pale blue/grey.

Butterfly

I have also omitted a wing, as I really didn’t like it, and I am pleased with the end result.  It is probably going into a matt silver frame.  The next project also has an animal theme….

November 15, 2013. Tags: , . Blackwork, Embroidery.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

